Tournament Winners Commit to SAS Championship

 Fan favorites Pavin, Calcavecchia, and Funk highlight list

CARY, N.C. (SEPTMEBER 21, 2012) – As the opening round nears for the SAS Championship presented by Bloomberg Businessweek, more legends of the PGA TOUR are committing to the list of competitors. 2012 tournament winners make up the latest round of additions to the tournament field, highlighted by the former United States Ryder Cup captain Corey Pavin, Open Championship winner Mark Calcavecchia, and THE PLAYERS Championship winner Fred Funk and 10 other winners from 2012.  The SAS Championship returns to Prestonwood Country Club October 5-7.

“This year’s Tour winners make for great additions to the SAS Championship field,” Tournament Director Jeff Kleiber said. “Being towards the end of the season, a field like this will create great drama and suspense for our fans as the players compete for not only the tournament title, but valuable Charles Schwab Cup points. For spectators, the entire experience, from the Eagles Nest to the free Michelob Ultra 19th Hole and the Blue 5K, will make for a memorable community celebration.”

Winner of the 1995 U.S. Open when it was played at Shinnecock Hills, Pavin won 15-times during his PGA TOUR career.  He was a three-time member of the United States Ryder Cup Team and captained the team in 2010.  He won his first Champions Tour event at the Allianz Championship earlier this year.

A fixture on the PGA TOUR for 30 years, Calcavecchia was a 13-time winner on the PGA TOUR, including the 1989 British Open Championship, and has won twice since joining the Champions Tour.  He finished tied for ninth at this year’s Open Championship played at Royal Lytham & St. Anne’s.

Fan favorite Funk, an eight-time PGA TOUR champion before winning seven times on the Champions Tour, is back at full strength after missing much of the second half of 2011 due to injuries.  When he won the 2005 PLAYERS Championship, he became the event’s oldest champion.

Joining Pavin, Calcavecchia and Funk in the field are Roger Chapman who won both the Senior PGA Championship and U.S. Senior Open, Joe Daley who won the Senior Players Championship, Willie Wood and Michael Allen who have both won twice this year, plus Dan Forsman, Loren Roberts, Kirk Triplett and Jay Don Blake.  The final field will be set at 5 p.m. on Friday, September 30 and additional commitment announcements will be made over the next week.

Tickets are currently on sale for the 2012 SAS Championship presented by Bloomberg Business, including the Eagles’ Nest. Situated on the pivotal par-5 17th hole, where past champions have often clinched victory, these day-specific tickets are $89, and each ticket includes catered lunch, open bar and snacks. Other ticket options include the SAS Championship Golf & Leisure Book weekly grounds passes and daily tickets. All ticket options can be purchased now online at or by calling (919) 531-4653.